CAF Confed. Cup draw: Nigerian sides kept apart

Nigerian sides in the ongoing Total CAF Confederation Cup escaped being drawn against each other during Wednesday’s 2nd 1/16th round draw held at at the Ritz Carlton in Cairo.

Nigerian Champions Plateau United were
drawn against USM Alger of Algeria while the likes of Enyimba, Akwa United and MFM FC will face Bidvest (South Africa), El Hilal (Sudan) and Djoliba (Mali) respectively.

The qualified teams were ranked according to their performances in the last five editions of the CAF Interclubs competitions (2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013).

The points system was decided as follows: winner – 5, runner-up -4, semi-final – 3, quarterfinal – 2, third in group 1 and fourth in group 0.5, multiplied by a co-efficient
of 5,4,3,2,1 for the editions 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014 and 2013.

Based on the performance of the 32 teams according to the five-year ranking, four Pots were established. Four clubs relegated from the Total CAF Champions League were seeded (Pot A), and top four ranked teams from the Total CAF Confederation Cup (Pot B). The remaining 12 teams from the Total CAF Champions League were drawn into Pot C and the others from the Total CAF Confederation Cup in Pot D.

Pot A: El Hilal (Sudan), Saint George (Ethiopia), AS Vita (DR Congo), Zanaco (Zambia)

Pot B: USM Alger (Algeria), Supersport (South Africa), Hilal Obied
(Sudan), Enyimba (Nigeria)

Pot C: ASEC Mimosas (Cote d’Ivoire), Mounana
(Gabon), Young Africans (Tanzania), Williamsville (Cote d’Ivoire), Aduana (Ghana), Gor Mahia (Kenya), UD Songo (Mozambique), MFM FC (Nigeria), Plateau United (Nigeria), Rayon Sport (Rwanda), Generation Foot (Senegal), Bidvest (South Africa)

Pot D: CR Belouizdad (Algeria), La Mancha (Congo), CARA (Congo), El Masry (Egypt), Niefang (Equatorial Guinea), Wolaitta Dicha (Ethiopia), Fosa Junior (Madagascar), Djoliba (Mali), RS Berkane (Morocco), Raja Club Athletic (Morocco), Costa do Sol (Mozambique), Akwa United (Nigeria)

Zanaco (Zambia) v Raja Club Athletic (Morocco)

AS Vita (DR Congo) v La Mancha (Congo)

El Hilal (Sudan) v Akwa United (Nigeria)

Supersport (South Africa) v Gor Mahia (Kenya)

Hilal Obied (Sudan) v Costa do Sol (Mozambique)

USM Alger (Algeria) v Plateau United (Nigeria)

Enyimba (Nigeria) v Bidvest (South Africa)

Aduana (Ghana) v Fosa Junior (Madagascar)

Young Africans (Tanzania) v Wolaitta Dicha (Ethiopia)

Generation Foot (Senegal) v RS Berkane (Morocco)

(Gabon) v El Masry (Egypt)

ASEC Mimosas (Cote d’Ivoire) v CR Belouizdad (Algeria)

Williamsville (Cote d’Ivoire) v Niefang (Equatorial Guinea)

MFM FC (Nigeria) v Djoliba (Mali)