By Bukola Olasanmi

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has sworn in the newly appointed seven Resident Electoral Commissioners (RECs).

The seven new RECs appointed for initial term of five years with effect from today are Dr Emmanuel Alex Hart, Mohammed Magaji Ibrahim, Dr Cyril Omorogbe, Dr Uthman Abdulrahman Ajidagba, Mr Segun Agbaje, Baba Abba Yusuf, and Yahaya Bello.

The INEC Chairman, Professor Mahmood Yakubu, in his remarks during the ceremony, expressed confidence that they would use their experience to contribute to the commission’s determination to make the 2019 general elections the best in Nigeria.

Responding on behalf of others, Segun gave an assurance that they would justify the confidence reposed in them.

Last week, President Muhammadu Buhari approved the appointment of the INEC’s RECs in a statement signed on behalf of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF), Mr Boss Gida Mustapha, by the Director Information in his Office, Lawrence Ojabo.