CHAMPIONS! Akwa United win first-ever NPFL title

0 313
Akwa United have become the champions of Nigeria for the first time in their 25-year history.
The Uyo-based club defeated visiting MFM of Lagos 5-2 on Sunday to seal their first-ever Nigeria Professional Football League title.
Charles Atshimene and Mfon Udoh were among the goals as the Promise Keepers overwhelmed their visitors and sent fans at the Godswill Akpabio Stadium into celebration.
With Sunday’s victory, Akwa United took an unassailable nine-point lead over second and third-placed Nasarawa United and Enyimba who each have just two matches left.
Akwa United’s Kennedy Boboye has now become the first head coach to lead two clubs to the league title in the NPFL era following his earlier triumph with Plateau United.
In other results on Sunday, Katsina United defeated Abia Warriors 1-0, Plateau United beat Dakkada 2-0, and Warri Wolves overcame Heartland 1-0.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.