Advert banner for desktop

Rohr recalls ‘retired’ Ighalo, 23 others for World Cup qualifiers

0 75

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Super Eagles head coach Gernot Rohr has called up 24 players for the two Qatar 2022 World Cup qualifiers in November.
The Nigeria national team face Liberia away and host Cape Verde in their last two fixtures of the second round of the qualifying campaign.
The most controversial name in the squad is that of Odion Ighalo.
The Al Shabab of Saudi Arabia striker retired from the national team in 2019 but has been recalled to the team despite the excellent performances of his replacement Victor Osimhen and plenty of options.
To accommodate Ighalo, who has not publicly accepted the invitation, Rohr has dropped in-form Union Berlin striker Taiwo Awoniyi from the squad.
Leicester City midfielder Wilfred Ndidi, Everton forward Alex Iwobi and Villarreal winger Samuel Chukwueze also return to the squad after missing the October double-header against Central African Republic through injury.
Regular faces led by captain Ahmed Musa and deputy captain William Troost-Ekong, defenders Kenneth Omeruo and Leon Balogun, as well as forwards Moses Simon and Victor Osimhen, are also included in the 24-man squad.
The Super Eagles will battle the Lone Star of Liberia at the Grand Stade Tangier in Morocco on Saturday, 13 November and then fly into Lagos for the final group game against Cape Verde at the Teslim Balogun Stadium three days later.
The Super Eagles lead Group C of the African qualifiers with nine points but are closely followed by Cape Verde who have seven.
The group winners will progress to the playoffs for the Qatar 2022 tickets.
The invited players and overseas-based members of the technical crew are to report directly to the city of Tangier next Monday, while technical officials from Nigeria are to report in Tangier the same day.
Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (AC Omonia, Cyprus); Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa); Maduka Okoye (Sparta Rotterdam, The Netherlands)
Defenders: Chidozie Awaziem (Alanyaspor FC, Turkey); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Leon Balogun (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); William Ekong (Watford FC, England); Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany); Abdullahi Shehu (AC Omonia, Cyprus); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal); Kevin Akpoguma (TSG Hoffenheim, Germany)
Midfielders: Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England); Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Galsgow Rangers, Scotland); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England)
Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Fatih Karagumruk, Turkey); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain); Victor Osimhen (Napoli FC, Italy); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Paul Onuachu (KRC Genk, Belgium); Chidera Ejuke (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Odion Jude Ighalo (Al-Shabab Riyadh, Saudi Arabia)

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy