2023: INEC publishes final list of presidential, National Assembly candidates

0 148

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has published the final list of presidential and National Assembly candidates of all the political parties contesting at the 2023 general elections.

The list, which was published on Sunday in pursuant to section 32(1) of the Electoral Act 2022 and item 8 of the Timetable and Schedule of Activities for the 2023 General Election, contains the full names and addresses of all nominated candidates.

This followed the conduct of primaries and completion of the nomination exercise by political parties, as well as the display of the personal particulars of all nominated candidates in their constituencies nationwide as provided by section 29(3) of the Electoral Act.

The Nigerian News reports that the published list contains the names of candidates validly nominated for national elections at the close of the parties’ primaries and the period earmarked for withdrawal and substitution of candidates.

Some of the presidential candidates on the list include the Peoples Democratic Party’s (PDP) Atiku Abubakar, the All Progressives Congress’ (APC) Bola Tinubu, Labour Party’s Peter Obi, New Nigeria Peoples Party’s (NNPP) Rabiu Kwankwaso, Zenith Party’s Daberechukwu Nwanyanwu with his running mate, Ramalan Abubakar; as well as the presidential candidate of the African Democratic Congress, Dumebi Kachikwu and his running mate, Ahmed Mani; among others.

Also on the list, some of the senatorial candidates include Godswill Akpabio from Akwa Ibom State and Peter Nwaobishi from Delta State as well as Bashir Machina, who replaced the Senate President Ahmad Lawan.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More