Anti-party: PDP bypasses Wike, 5-G govs, suspends Nnamani, Fayose, others

0 91

It appears the National Working Committee, NWC, of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, heed the warnings of Rivers State Governor, Nyesom Wike, against expelling him and his G5 colleagues from the party as their names were inexplicably missing from the list of members recently suspended for alleged anti-party activities.

TheNigerian News observed that despite leading an anti-party group that made its stance against the party’s presidential candidate clear, neither Wike nor his rebellious colleagues were on the list of those suspended for anti-party.

The main opposition party has been enmeshed in crisis after the Wike-led group of five PDP governors (G5) demanded the replacement of the party’s National Chairman, Iyorchia Ayu with a southerner to correct “regional imbalance” in the PDP since Messrs Atiku and Ayu are both northerners.

Apart from Wike, other governors who are members of the G5 are Samuel Ortom (Benue), Ifeanyi Ugwanyi (Enugu), Okezie Ikpeazu (Abia), and Seyi Makinde (Oyo).

Wike had dared the PDP leadership repeatedly to suspend him if they can.

When the PDP National Publicity Secretary, Hon. Debo Ologunagba, released a statement in Abuja, late on Friday, announcing the suspension of some party members for anti-party activities, the names of Wike and his cronies were exempted.

On the list are former Enugu state governor, Senator Chimaroke Nnamani, and son of former Ekiti state governor, Ayo Fayose; Fayose Oluwajomiloju John.

“After a very extensive review and consideration of the affairs of our Party in the country, pursuant to the provisions of the PDP Constitution (as amended in 2017) approved the suspension of Senator Chimaroke Nnamani (Enugu State) and Chief Chris Ogbu (Imo State) with effect from today, Friday, January 20, 2023, over allegations of anti-party activities,” the statement partly read.

The PDP also dissolved the Ekiti State Executive Council of the party.

“In the same vein, the NWC has approved the suspension of the underlisted Party members in Ekiti State also with effect from today, Friday, January 20, 2023, over allegations of anti-party activities.

“The suspended members in Ekiti State are;

1. Ayeni Funso -(Ekiti North)

2. Ajijola Lateef Oladimeji -(Ekiti Central)

Others are;

1. Emiola Adenike Jennifer -(Ekiti South II)

2. Ajayi Babatunde Samuel -(Ekiti North II)

3. Olayinka James Olalere -(Ekiti Central)

4. Akerele Oluyinka -(Ekiti North I)

5. Fayose Oluwajomiloju John -(Ekiti Central I).”

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More