BYSIEC issues certificates of return to LG chairmen-elect

0 54

The Bayelsa State Independent Electoral Commission, on Monday, presented certificates of return to the chairmen and vice chairmen-elect of the eight local government councils of the state.

The ruling Peoples Democratic Party won all eight chairmanship seats and all the councillorship positions in the 105 wards in the LG election the commission conducted on April 6, 2024.

Supporters of the PDP and relatives of the elected council officials mobilised in large numbers to the presentation ceremony held at the NUJ Press Centre, Yenagoa, on Monday.

The chairman of BYSIEC, Peter Singabele, who presented the certificates of return to the elected council officials, congratulated them on their victory at the poll.

He urged them to deliver the dividends of democracy to the people at the grassroots.

He said that similar presentation ceremonies would be performed at the headquarters of the eight council areas for the elected councillors.

He said, “This is a brief ceremony but very important, for this is the last step on the part of BYSIEC in the 2024 LG election. When you have your certificates and are eventually sworn in,  you can now operate as elected chairmen of the local government areas of the state. And that is courtesy of government and democracy by the grassroots.”

Those who received their certificates of return are Lucky Febo for Brass LGA, David Alagoa (Nembe LGA), Target Segibo (Southern Ijaw LGA), Lelei Isaac (Kolokuma/Opokuma LGA), Golden Jeremiah (Ogbia LGA), Onniye Isaac (Ekeremor LGA), Buloudisiye Ndiwari (Yenagoa LGA) and Alice Tangi (Sagbama LGA), the only female among them.

Responding on behalf of the other elected officials, Buloudisiye Ndiwari of Yenagoa council area expressed appreciation to Governor Douye Diri and the Deputy Governor, Lawrence Ewhrudjakpo, and other stakeholders for their support.

He also promised that they would justify the confidence reposed in them by improving the quality of lives of the people in the various council areas.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More