Paris 2024 Olympics: Nigeria invite Ajibade, Oshoala, 20 others for South Africa clash

0 75

Coach of the Nigeria senior women’s football team, Randy Waldrum, has invited captain Rasheedat Ajibade, US-based Asisat Oshoala and goalkeeper Chiamaka Nnadozie, alongside 19 other players for the two-legged Paris Olympics final qualifying fixture against South Africa in April.

In a statement by Ademola Olajire, Head of NFF’s Communications Department, on Monday, Waldrum also invited Saudi Arabia-based defender Ashley Plumptre and veteran rearguard Osinachi Ohale.

US-based youthful midfielder Deborah Abiodun, and forwards Esther Okoronkwo and Uchenna Kanu also made the list.

The coach also recalled 2019 World Cup star Chidinma Okeke and veteran forward Chiwendu Ihezuo, as well as a first invitation handed to U20 defender Shukurat Oladipo.

The Super Falcons are at home for the first leg scheduled for April 5 at the Moshood Abiola National Stadium, Abuja.

The return leg would be in Pretoria at the Loftus Versfeld Stadium on April 9.

The winner over two legs will earn one of Africa’s two tickets to this year’s Women’s Olympic Football Tournament, with Zambia and Morocco to clash for the other ticket on the same dates.

Waldrum has also kept faith with regulars like wing-back Michelle Alozie, midfield lynchpins Christy Ucheibe and Halimatu Ayinde, and forward Gift Monday.


Goalkeepers: Chiamaka Nnadozie (Paris FC); Tochukwu Oluehi (Shualat Alsharqia FC, Saudi Arabia); Linda Jiwuaku (Bayelsa Queens)

Defenders: Osinachi Ohale (Pachucha Club de Futbol, Mexico); Ashleigh Plumptre (Ittihad Ladies, Saudi Arabia); Shukurat Oladipo (FC Robo Queens); Michelle Alozie (Houston Dash, USA); Nicole Payne (Portland Thorns FC, USA); Chidinma Okeke (Mynavi Sendai Ladies, Japan)

Midfielders: Deborah Abiodun (University of Pittsburgh, USA); Halimatu Ayinde (FC Rosengard, Sweden); Christy Ucheibe (SL Benfica, Portugal); Jennifer Echegini (Juventus Ladies, Italy); Rasheedat Ajibade (Atletico Madrid FC, Spain); Toni Payne (Sevilla FC, Spain)

Forwards: Omorinsola Babajide (Coasta Adeje Tenerife Egatesa, Spain); Esther Okoronkwo (Changchun FC, China); Ifeoma Onumonu (SLC Utah, USA); Asisat Oshoala (Bay FC, USA); Uchenna Kanu (Racing Louisville, USA); Gift Monday (Coasta Adeje Tenerife Egatesa, Spain); Chiwendu Ihezuo (Pachucha Club de Futbol, Mexico)

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More