Governor Muftwang swears in 17 LG transition chairmen

0 97

At Government House in Jos, the state capital, Governor Caleb Mutfwtang of Plateau State swore in interim transition committee chairs for the state’s 17 local government areas.

The exercise was required, according to the governor, who stated this during the ceremony on Saturday in the person of his deputy, Mrs Josephine Piyo.


Following the advice of the Plateau House of Assembly, the governor suspended all democratic institutions in the 17 local government areas on June 1.

The suspension, according to Muftwang, was caused by their inability to produce documents pertaining to financial transactions in the various local governments. He claimed that all attempts to force them to produce the documents had failed.

He said that following careful consideration of the recommendations, the state government decided to suspend the chairmen in order to carry out an effective and appropriate investigation into the development.

He pleaded with the transition chairmen to work with the PLHA and see that all records needed for the investigation were provided so that the proper course of action could be taken.

“Any form of indiscipline will not be tolerated by this administration. You are expected to maintain order in the LGA council and not use it as a means to amass wealth.

Also keep in mind that this is a transitional administration and can end whenever the government sees fit, he added.

In response, the governor was reassured by the chairman of Wase LG, Hamisu Anani, that they would follow the laws and rules governing local government and work for the advancement of the state.

According to NAN, the temporary chairmen are Mr. Markus Hussaini from Jos East; Mr. Sati Shuwa from Riyom; Mr. Peter VwangDung from Jos South; Mr. Fidelis Adara from Bassa; Mr. Danjuma Guda from Barkin Ladi; Mr. Istifanus John from Jos North; Mr. Markus Artu from Mangu; and Mr. Monday Kassa from Bokkos.

Another is Mr. Samuel Go’ar Pankshin, along with Mr. Caleb Shikir of Kanke, Mr. Ado Yusuf of Kanam, Mr. Nicholas Nshe of Shendam, Mr. Christopher Manship of Quanpan, Mr. Daniel Kungmi of Mikang, Mr. Nanmwa Kumzhi of Langtang North, Mrs. Manji Dangfa of Langtang South, and Mr. Hamisu Anani of Wase.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More